Save Hinazuki 2016 (Anime First Impression: “Erased”)

Hey my blog people 🙂 I’ve decided to break up all of these recent book posts with something different… an anime post! I know, what a surprise. Today I’ll be doing a sort of first impression of an anime I started recently called “Erased” or “Boku dake ga Inai Machi.” I’m really excited about this one so let’s just skip the pleasantries and LET’S GET STARTED

“Erased” is about a 29- year- old man, Satoru, who is a pizza delivery guy. He is capable of doing something he likes to call revival where he travels back in time (typically 5- 10 minutes) right before something awful happens. He tries to stop what it is he’s traveled back in time to fix. It appears he does this not of his own accord. This may be getting into SPOILERS territory… but it does happen in the first episode… so… Anyway, his mother is murdered after she witnesses a failed child abduction (which is something of note because a little girl was abducted and killed when Satrou was a child which led to a string of child abduction/ murders) and Satrou ends up a suspect. He’s running away from the police when he “revives” all the way back to before the little girl from his class was abducted. He figures that’s how far back he has to go to prevent his mother from being murdered. So now he’s trying to change the course of events and help save everyone and put the right person away for these murders. That’s important too, a man was convicted of these crimes back when Satoru was a kid. It was this young man who’s a bit awkward and shy and likes to hang out with kids much like himself. He was Satoru’s friend.

8771a37e37fff00c98e9aa1145f5996f1451071394_full

Okay I think that’s all you need to know about the plot. I hope I didn’t give too much away but omg there’s just so much. This anime leaves you on the edge of your seat and you’re just waiting for the ball to drop every episode. I think it’s currently at 9 episodes and I just watched the 7th so I’m almost caught up. It’s a mystery/ thriller that leaves you with a cliff hanger at the end of every episode screaming WTF IS GOING ON?!!?? WHAT JUST HAPPENED??? It’s awful but I love it. I almost don’t want to catch up because then I’ll have to wait a week like everyone else. Just like everyone else watching this show, never have I ever been so invested in the relationship of two 10- year- olds. Also never have I ever hated a character so much after mere minutes of screen time.Seriously, Hinazuki’s mother is the worst fucking character. (btw Hinazuki is the little girl Satoru is trying to save).

It’s been awhile since I’ve been this invested in an anime (when I say awhile I mean probably since “Noragami”). If you’re otaku trash like me srsly do yourself a favor and start watching this one.

Also here’s an English version of the opening. I like this song.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

