“What you are is a fucking tragedy, Simon Snow.” (“Carry On” by Rainbow Rowell)

What up nerds? I’m coming at you today with (surprise) another book post! I finished Carry On literally like half an hour ago. I’ve mulled it over and I have some thoughts so come have a sit and plz bring some coffee if you would and LET’S GET STARTED

MARGO - WIN_20160226_140519

So Carry On is set in a magical world (school, really) and a boy named Simon who is supposed to be the greatest mage of all time who will save the magical world from the Insidious Humdrum who’s fucking shit up. Simon has a roommate at Watford (the magic school), Baz, who hates his guts. They’re constantly going at it. Simon has a clever and talented best friend Penny and a meh girlfriend Agatha. Uh I guess that’s just about it. Oh, wait and Simon is an orphan.

Let’s just get this out of the way: Carry On draws a lot from Harry Potter. Simon is supposed to be this chosen one who saves everyone but he pretty much sucks. He’s taken under his headmasters wing. I really don’t want to go into all the parallels because I’m liable to give something away. But yeah.  You should know that going into this book. You will see obvious comparisons. It’s not something that bothered me. I didn’t feel like Carry On was trying to be Harry Potter but it certainly exists partly because of Harry Potter. Just something to be aware of.

The absolute best part of this book was everything Simon and Baz. I honestly wish that Rainbow would’ve done with this what she does best and that’s write cute lil love stories. I’d be so happy if she just kind of picks up where she left off and like writes about Penny and Simon and Baz all being cute posh British young adults. I also appreciate that there is a homosexual couple in this novel. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with one in it… which is my fault, I haven’t looked for those kinds of books.

Are there things I wish would’ve been done differently? Absolutely. The way magic is used in this world comes off a bit silly at first. I like that music and lyrics are spells because I think music is already magic. But the trite phrases as spells… like I said comes off as silly sometimes. However, do I regret reading this book? No, not at all. I found it entertaining and lovely at times. I actually wish she could’ve done this as a series so she could’ve developed this world she was trying to create and make it more her own.

Oh, also if you read Fangirl I really think it’d be prudent for you to read Carry On. I think it’s so cool that something that started out as a characters fanfiction turned into just actual fiction.

For her first attempt at a fantasy novel, I can’t say Rainbow did a bad job. I quite liked it.

Up Next: I think I’m going to read Stars Above by my girl Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

