“hell is empty and all the devils are here” (Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi)

Hello lovelies! I know I just did a book post but I just finished Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi so here I am ready to discuss. Let’s all be adults about the slightly sexual content  and LET’S GET STARTED

MARGO - WIN_20160215_142940

I think I said this at the end of the last post but in case you didn’t get that far Ignite Me is the last book in the Shatter Me series. It exists in a dystopian society where the Restablishment and the Supreme Commander rules all. The world has become a barren place depleted of basic resources  and is divided up into sectors. The civilians of the world are barely surviving. The series centers around Juliette, a girl with magnificent power who can’t be touched ( or at least Miss Mafi leads you to believe).  And of course there’s a love triangle involving a complicated and dark boy named Warner and a sweet boy who was always there for Juliette, Adam. Okay I think that’s about it as far as summaries go without giving too much away.

Initially when I started reading these books I was put off by all the tropes. Dystopian society. A girl being put down by the man. Said girl rising up and fights back the man. BUT as far as dystopina YA series go this one is pretty solid. I did find this series romance heavy which isn’t a problem for me just something of note. This woman does smut very well. Juliette’s internal monologue was poetic for me in moments. I found the language as a whole in this series very beautiful. And Warner is now one of my fictional boyfriends back off you can’t have him.

Also I really really REALLY love Juliette’s progression. She was so timid and afraid of who she was in the beginning but boy oh boy watch out now boys she’ll fuck you up. I love that she’s embraced who she is and what she’s capable of doing. It’s nice. She believes in herself and it came from within.

If you’re frustrated by things being exactly how you think they’ll be then I wouldn’t pick this series up. But if you’re up for a lot of teen angst and hormones raging galore with a dash of fighting the man then this will be enjoyable for you. I can’t deny I liked this books no matter how much I’d like to.

I think I’m going to read “Carry On” by my fave Rainbow Rowell next.

Leave a Reply

