Friends Forever <3 (Not a Book Post: Anime Recommendation)

This one goes out to all my otakus!! No but really I’m here today with an anime post. This week I watched a short and sweet anime that leaves you as warm as a fuzzy winter sweater. So if that sounds like your thing stay tuned. LET’S GET STARTED

298759

My one older brother recommended to me an anime I watched this week (thanks bro) called “Anohana: The Flower We Saw that Day.” It’s only about 11 episodes I think, so a quick watch. It’s about a group of high school kids that once were friends as children but have grown a part. They are brought together again by the return of their friend, Menma, who died when they were kids. She comes back as a ghost (obviously) and only one of the friends, Jintan, can see or talk to her. The show is about them coming back together to fulfil Menma’s last wish and finally grieving for their fallen friend.

Ugh sigh you know how I feel about shows about grief. For some reason I absolutely love them. I believe it’s one of those central human emotions that can really bring people together and bond them for life. This show nailed it as far as that goes.

And I can’t say enough how cute this show is. Absolutely adorable. And beautiful. The story just grabs you because I mean we all had friends like these as kids, one’s that you thought would be there forever then life gets in the way and the next thing you know you’re in high school and you hardly know each other anymore. It was truly a joy to watch these character’s come back together.

This isn’t normally my genre but I liked it a lot. So give it a shot if you want to feel all cozy but sad too.

Leave a Reply

