Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

SOUND THE ALARMS I’m finally doing a book post! I felt like I was going to have to change the name of my blog. But I’m back to my roots. Normally I would’ve done a halfway through post but I just kind of plowed through this book so let’s just get started.

Picture 13

Over the past couple days I read “Fangirl” by Rainbow Rowell. The basic premise is twin sisters, Cath and Wren, are going off to college for their freshmen year. Cath is a shy introvert who writes popular fanfiction based on a series of books called Simon Snow and Wren is the outgoing, adventurous type.

I honestly don’t know where to begin. I loved this book so so much.  Rowell has become my favorite female author at the moment. She’s a genius at character development and making each one seem so real. This might be SOILERS but whenever Cath’s Mom resurfaces and Cath can’t understand how Wren could even consider seeing her let alone talking to her I was very frustrated with Cath. I felt like Cath had absolutely no right to tell Wren what she should or shouldn’t do in regard to their mother. Wren wasn’t trying to do that. But I understood where Cath was coming from. She felt betrayed by her sister. So even though I wanted Cath to get a grip I still loved her and was understanding while she dealt with her shit.

Rowell also seamlessly includes mental  health issues. I think sometimes when books try to tackle a character with mental health they end up throwing it in your face and the whole book ends up being about the illness. Which isn’t really a bad thing, I don’t believe. But I felt like Rowell’s portrayal of anxiety, depression, and substance abuse was beautifully and realistically done.

I couldn’t get enough of Cath and Levi. They were so fucking cute I giggled like a lunatic reading this book. I loved the moments where she read to him and that he’s the only one who calls her Cather. Levi is just such a good guy and I can’t think of a better person to ground Cath.

I always felt like the term fangirl was a  dirty word. It felt synonymous with crazy girl; referring to someone being irrationally devoted to someone or something. But Rowell has shed light on what it’s actually like to be a fangirl (or boy) in a fandom and I appreciate you so much girl.

I could go on and on. I seriously love this book and I want to kiss the woman who wrote it. (side note: she fucking wrote Carry On which is the fanfiction piece Cath is working on through out the book and I cannot wait to read it omg)

If you love YA pls do yourself a favor and read all of Rainbow Rowell’s books. She’s great.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

