“Men and power. It’s seriously a disease.” (Not a Book Post: TV Recommendation)

As I said in my previous post, I started “Winter” from “The Lunar Chronicles” so there will be a post about that coming soon so keep your eyes peeled (actually don’t do that why is that a saying). I also said that I was going to start a Netflix show called “Jessica Jones” which I finished before I left for my mom’s for Thanksgiving. It was an amazing show that I thought deserved some thought and discussion. Oh wait and just to be safe SPOILERS idk maybe I’m just covering my bases.

I’ll try and sum this up for you. “Jessica Jones” is about a young woman who is a private investigator. You find out she was in a car accident as a teen that killed her parents and younger brother but left her with superhuman strength. You also find out she’s not the only one in the city (the setting is Hell’s Kitchen in New York I think) who has abilities. She meets a man named Luke Cage who has skin like diamonds. There’s also a man who can control people by just telling them what he wants (pretty much mind control). Jessica spends the show trying to simultaneously stop this man and save a girl he set up to be charged with murder.

A lot of people have been comparing this show to “Daredevil” (and I can see why) but I’m not going to do that.

What I really appreciated about the show is it’s subtle feminism. Jessica and her best friend, Trish, are two of the strongest female characters I’ve seen on television in a long time. It also addressed in a quiet way the weird patriarchal culture in our country. There’s a moment where the villain says that he won’t touch Jessica until she says he can. His choice of words imply there will be a time when she changes his mind, that she’ll ware her down until she does whatever he wants.

This man also claims to love Jessica but luckily Jessica recognizes he can’t love her (and not just because he’s a fucking psycho). He idealizes her beauty and her physical strength which have little to do with who she is as a person. She’s sharp witted, smart, and funny which he doesn’t really seem to appreciate about her.

idk that’s all I just really liked this show and I highly recommend it to any Marvel nerds out there.

Leave a Reply

