And most importantly… NEVER make some fucking noise (Not a book post: Life Adventure)

Yesterday Liz and I (she’s visiting <3) took the megabus to Pittsburgh to see a comedian/ entertainer we both really enjoy (his name is Bo Burnham). Considering how many times we missed him when he came to State College, this was a long time coming.

The show Bo is currently touring is called “Make Happy” and definitely didn’t disappoint. It was full of the sarcasm and honesty I’ve come accustomed to from him. I can’t wait for an album/ special release so I can listen to/ watch it over and over again like I’ve done with his other shows. Along with new material (obviously) he performed two songs from “words, words, words” which was nice and surprising.

I’ve been a fan of Bo’s for quite awhile and this was my first time seeing him live (which wtf what took me so long). I’ve watched him progress and change as a performer with almost every show he puts together. I can’t believe how much his voice has improved from when I first came across him when I was around 16. I imagine he works extremely hard on everything he does and I admire what he does very much. It’s hard for me to describe his act to people because like it is funny but also makes you think  and he does take himself seriously (sometimes) so I don’t want to say he’s a comedian because that doesn’t feel like the right modifier. I don’t think he sets out just to make you laugh and feel good.

After the show Liz wanted to wait around the tour bus to see if we could get a peek at him and maybe say hi. I feel uncomfortable doing things like that and it’s kind of hard for me to explain. Yes, I would like to meet an individual who produces art (at least I’d consider it so) that I really like and inspires me. No, I don’t want to force said person to meet me. But we did so and while we were there I heard some girls behind me say that he better come out or they were going to be pissed. When security announced he wasn’t feeling well and that he wouldn’t be coming out these same girls said they’d be staying putt until the tour bus was gone. These kinds of fans are another reason doing things like hanging around a tour bus makes me feel icky. It seems to me like they aren’t understanding a fundamental thing about this person they “love;” he/she is a human being. And if you pay any attention to Bo’s show you’d kind of gather that he would hate to have a crowd of people waiting to tell him how much they love him and ask for a picture. Idk I’m just making assumptions and going on a tangent. I digress. I just kind of feel protective of Bo since I sort of feel like I get it and that I’d be the same way in his position.

Anyway Bo is great and if you’re not familiar, he’s not for everyone but I still think you should give his stuff a shot.

omg also there was an opening guy who was pretty funny but I can’t remember his name I’m awful D:

Leave a Reply

