“… after all I’ve been through?” (Not a Book Post: Anime Recommendation)

I hate to do this to you guys but I’m coming at you once again with an anime post. I swear I’ll post about other stuff soon. But anyway I was at my mom’s for lil man’s birthday and we watched “Tokyo Ghoul.” I really enjoyed it so I figured we could have a chat. LET’S GET STARTED wait there could be spoilers… so just be careful.

Alright so “Tokyo Ghoul” centers around college student Kaneki (in Tokyo where apparently there are ghouls it’s just like a part of the world) who is just a normal kid who likes books. He’s hanging out with his friend Hide at this coffee shop when they meet this girl Rize. She’s reading the same book Kaneki is so of course instant boner (just kidding but obviously he’s interested). They go on a date and at the end of the date when Kaneki is asking Rize if she’d like go out again he finds out she’s a ghoul (and when I say he finds out she’s a ghoul she tries to eat him). So she’s in the process of devouring him when this building like falls on her. So she dies and in order to save Kaneki the doctor decides to insert Rize’s organs into Kaneki. Making him half human and half ghoul. (I’m not sure if any of that was spoilers I mean it’s the whole premise of the show…)

I really love stories that deal with what it means to be human and the importance of life so I really enjoyed this anime. Kaneki’s struggle with his new identity is very real and is something everyone can relate to in some way. When we suffer tragedies, we’re forever changed as people and it takes time to discover what that means.

Also the ghouls were badass.

I only watched the first season because I was informed the second season totally ruins the series. So even though the ending of season one is a bit of a cliff hanger I’m satisfied with the story I was told.

Also here’s the opening. You should give it a listen. I’m obsessed.

UNRELATED so Halloween is coming up. I put together a costume for work. I’m dressing up as Rin Tohsaka from “Fate/ Stay Night.” Would y’all be interested in seeing the costume I put together?

Leave a Reply

