“How is it possible to exist in a place that sucks so bad?” (“Me and Earl and the Dying Girl” Part 1)

I’m a little over halfway through “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl.” Y’all know the drill if you haven’t done the reading I can’t make any promises about spoilers. But if you have let’s grab a coffee and chat for a bit. HERE WE GO

So “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl” is about this boy named Greg who’s in high school. He has this friend Earl who he makes home movies with that they think are shit and don’t show anyone. Greg’s mom tells him that this girl he was in Hebrew school with when he was in middle school got Leukemia and that he should be there for her as a friend. Which is a problem for Greg because he’s made it his mission to have no enemies by also having no friends. He’s acquaintances with almost everyone but doesn’t hang out with anyone. Besides Earl who he considers more of a co-worker.

This is the funniest book I’ve read in a long time. Greg is very self-deprecating and kind of for good reason because he’s pretty socially inept.  It’s really interesting to see Greg and Earl’s friendship develop since they’re from such different backgrounds. I’m excited to see more of Rachel (the dying girl). She seems really cool and like someone I would want to be friends with.

My favorite part so far is when Earl and Greg accidentally get like super fucking high. The way Greg described it was… kind of extreme but really hilarious.

My only sort of pet peeve with this novel is the way it’s set up kind of feels like a cop-out. Like how Greg is telling the story and directly addressing his audience. Although come to think of it a lot of classics I’ve read recently do that. “Slaughterhouse” did a bit and so did “Lolita.” idk it just seems to me like a really easy way to tell a story, to literally have your narrator tell the story to the reader. Which I guess I can’t fault a writer for doing that. Idk I’m rambling.

Leave a Reply

