“We burned a symbol to the ground.” (“We Were Liars”)

I know normally I post in parts when I do book posts but “We Were Liars” by E. Lockhart just wouldn’t let me put it down. So I hope you’re ready to put your thinking caps on because it’s discussion time. I’ll probably spoil some stuff this time so really be careful.

This was probably the perfect book for me to take to the beach since it takes place on this island and a lot of the scenes take place on beaches and in water. Anyway, this book centers around a wealthy family called the Sinclairs. They own this island that the entire family spends every summer at. I’m not going to try and explain the family tree since it’s a bit much to be thrown at a reader at once. But there’s this girl Cadence and her two cousins Mirren and Johnny and their friend Gat. One summer, Cady has an accident she can’t remember. So the novel starts off with Cady going back to the island two years after the accident and throughout she’s trying to piece together what happened.

“We Were Liars” is another YA novel that reminded me why I love YA lit. It deals a lot with grief and guilt and privilege. There’s a moment where Cady is kind of indirectly complaining to Gat that she has to deal with these headaches and her memory loss and he kind of gets irritated with her because she has everything a person could want. Cady then tries to explain to him that her being privileged doesn’t make her pain go away. It’s an interesting discussion about having internal struggles and whether one’s problems can be argued as greater or lesser than another’s.

I really enjoyed the kind of romantic and idealistic way the younger characters were portrayed. Like how Gat is so socially aware and Cadence being the rebel of her family. They bordered for me on unrealistic until I realized I was kind of the same way as a teenager. Especially the whole writing shit on your hands. I still do that.

Also there’s like kind of I guess a twist that I totally did not see coming which is impressive to me. Normally I like to think about what could happen in the stories I’m reading but while reading this it didn’t seem important. I was so involved I just was experiencing it as I read it.

This book is going to go up there with some of my favorites.

Up Next: “Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl” by Jesse Andrews.

Leave a Reply

